Uhuru signs nine bills into law, public to now have easy access to information


President Uhuru Kenyatta yesterday signed nine bills into law, six of which meet constitutional deadlines.

They are the Controller of Budget, the Miscellaneous Fees and Levies, the Access to Information, the Kenya National Examinations Council (Amendment), the Community Land, the Protection of Traditional Knowledge and Cultural Expressions, the Forest Conservation and Management, the Lands Laws and the Seeds and Plant Varieties (Amendment) bills.

The Access to Information Act gives the Commission on Administrative Justice oversight and enforcement powers. It allows the public to seek information from the government and obliges public servants to provide it or risk jail. The Community Land Act protects community land and allows the counties to oversee transactions.


About author